Concert Reviews

Concert Review: The Darkness @ Corona Theatre, April 17, 2018

June 2004, Verdun Auditorium. Once a tour stop for massive acts like The Clash, Metallica, Black Sabbath and Nirvana, by the 2000s, the venue remained mostly unused, other than for minor hockey. The first—and last—show I would ever see in Verdun was The Darkness, touring their massive debut album Permission to Land. I don’t remember too many details from that night; only that it seemed everyone I knew was there, and we all had an incredible time. I don’t believe there have been any other shows at Verdun Auditorium since. Certainly, it went out with a bang that night.


Concert Review: Baths @ Fairmount Theatre, April 14, 2018

The dim lit glow of neon signs and colourful lights at Theatre Fairmount encapsulated the night of Baths’ concert—beginning with the delicate soloist Sasami, following with a smooth but rugged commotion from No Joy, and concluding the stroke of midnight through the voltaic, emotive harmonies of Baths. Each act brought to the stage a unique sound that the theatre would be foolish to forget.


Concert Review: Mouth Breather @ Casa del Popolo, April 7, 2018

The musical style of Owen Hopper, a.k.a Mouth Breather, is one that cannot be easily defined but it does make people want to dance. Hooper produces the majority of his songs, mixing the beats, creating the melodies, and layering the vocals. He describes his sound as a mesh of all the art that he consumes and simply makes it his own.


CJLO @ SXSW: Zak Slax Coverage Part 2

Nardwuar told me he was going to see Shopping – a good pick indeed. I, however, was looking for a less hyped gig; a brief respite from the increasingly thick throngs of Hotel Vegas, as my energy had sunk with the sun.


CJLO @ SXSW: Amrew's Three-Day Recap

This year, I had the privilege of attending South by Southwest 2018 in Austin, Texas, with my fellow music directors. I was really excited because Austin has the perfect weather, great people and southwestern charm. During SXSW, the city is filled with loud music and a ton of great shows to see and artists to discover.

On our first day, after picking up our badges at the Austin Convention Center, we tracked down nourishment for the night ahead. I met up with a rep and headed to The Belmont for the John Lennon Educational Tour Bus, hosting RZA of Wu-Tang featuring Stone Mecca and Pussy Riot.


Concert Review: Albert Hammond Jr. @ L’Astral

Like many of my fellow millennials, the guitar stylings of Albert Hammond Jr. served as the soundtrack to my adolescence. Yet that was within the context of The Strokes, a fully different beast from Hammond Jr.’s solo project. His newest work is scrappy, spirited, and more conceptually cohesive than anything his bandmates have put out in a while. Regardless of any stylistic differences, both old school and new school alternative rock fans alike would have enjoyed Monday’s energetic yet intimate show.

 


CJLO @ SXSW: Kelly's Experience

Back from an exhilarating experience at South by Southwest 2018 in Austin, Texas, it is time to digest our street meat and musical discoveries from this seemingly never-ending music-at-every-corner festival and conference.

As World Music Director, my mission was to discover as much "world" music-inspired artists as possible. Some buzz words that peaked my attention included afro-futurism and global future, wrapped around more favourite words like funk, electronic, and psychedelic.


Concert Review: Intervals @ Café Campus, February 22, 2018

Thursday, February 22nd brought us to Café Campus, where Intervals performed on their North American tour alongside Nick Johnston, and Jason Richardson.

Needless to say, the anticipation was quite high for when I was about to go to this show. It had been ages since I had been to a show since my injury in early July, where I dislocated my elbow, and I was not able to go anywhere for months. It is good to be back in the live music world. 

Making my way to the venue, I was listening to The Way Forward again to get a refresher of the songs, and as well preparing for my interview.


Concert Review: "This Isn’t About the Perfect Black T-Shirt" - Porches & Girl Ray @ Théâtre Plaza, Feb. 18, 2018

It seems to be my thing to go to concerts of bands that I’ve never heard of before. This has been my third time taking part in this tradition and by far it has been the best one. Going into this, I was really expecting lo-fi, chill indie vibe-y music that the crowd would sway back and forth too. I wasn’t wrong, but I was definitely missing a significant part of the concert.


Concert Review: "Blue faces for a night not so blue" - Brockhampton @ Corona, Feb. 6, 2018

Once I learned that Brockhampton was coming to Montreal, I instantly started listening to all of their four albums religiously.  I now believe that all of the 16-year-old boys in Montreal did the same.

Last Tuesday, Montreal’s rap enthusiast community had the great honor of welcoming the 15 members that form the American music group Brockhampton for a show of high-intensity at Corona Theater.

The band, created in 2015, is the brainchild of Texas-raised artist Kevin Abstract who, via a website specific for fans of Kanye West, formed a band designated to redefining the title “boy band” and creating music that imperatively mandates inclusivity and diversity.


Concert Review: Majid Jordan @ MTELUS, Jan. 16, 2018

When I watch a Majid Jordan music video, I feel cozy—not the type of cozy that makes you want to crawl into bed, but the type that makes you want to crack open your finest bottle of wine, put on a mink coat, and snuggle with your significant other. I had the opportunity to speak with Majid Jordan before they hit the stage in Montreal, and even though they told me what to expect from the show and that their audio visual experience has been enhanced, I could not foresee the Blade Runner-esque dream state the duo would be able to create, and keep everyone in attendance drawn to.


Concert Review: Ripe & Clarks Bowling Club @ The Bermont, Nov. 30

The Boston band Ripe ripped it up at the Belmont, on November 30. Formed way back in October 2011, it was the first visit for this funk jam assemble to our fair city. The seven-member band led by vocalist Robbie Wulfsohn held a non-stop dance fest. As it says on their Facebook page, “We like to make you happy and make you dance. And then we like to party with you.”


Concert Review: Daniel Caesar @ Corona, Nov. 25

Daniel Caesar took the stage at Corona Theatre on Saturday, November 25, and the crowd knew that they were about to witness something precious. The Toronto native is touring off of his gospel-founded, relentlessly nostalgic R&B tape, Freudian. With a rise in the press and a bump from features like Kali Uchis, H.E.R., and Syd, Caesar has established himself as an up-and-coming icon on the R&B radar, and he proved himself at the Corona.


Concert Review: Bella Fleck & Abigail Washburn @ Corona, Nov. 17

Bella Fleck and Abigail Washburn brought their banjos to Montreal on Tuesday, November 14th. First scheduled at the Corona Theatre but after a last minute venue change, the concert was moved to the L’Astral. The move proved itself to be quite fortunate as it provided a more intimate setting. 

The duo opened the concert with a few songs from their new album, Echo In The Valley, starting with a three song medley, “Sally In The Garden/Big Country/Molly Put The Kettle On”. Next up was “Railroad”, and then a question many of us may wonder at one time or another, “If I Could Talk To A Younger Me”.


Pages